The FDA approves the use of CBD as a prescription drug, and according to the same regulations, federal law states that these prescription drugs cannot be added to foods, supplements or cosmetics by choice.
Legally circulating products with CBD content are also regulated by the FDA, and in the particular case of the manufacture and sale of CBD products in Texas, licenses are required as a CHP retailer in the face of past 2019 Texas state health department regulations.
What should we know about these licenses? How do we get one? Here are some fundamental details.
Consumable Hemp Program: Texas Licensing and Registration
The Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS), offers an online service for licensing edible CBD manufacturers and distributors, as well as registering CHP retailers.
These are the conditions for retailer registration:
- Online CHP retail sales with company name, hemp product and packaging.
Similarly, it is important to add that applicants are not required to undergo a fingerprint criminal history process at the Federal Bureau of Investigation.
Requirements and instructions can be found on the official Texas Department of State Health Services (DSHS) website, as well as the official DSHS business and professional licensing website.
When is a license required for CBD sales in Texas?
In Texas, a license is required for CBD sales when:
- CHP products are manufactured, the process of which integrates preparation, compounding, processing, packaging, repackaging, labeling and relabeling.
- You trade with white labels from retailers or private labels on products manufactured by another company.
- When CHPs are sold wholesale.
What is a CHP in the hemp industry?
A CHP is any hemp product processed and manufactured for sale. This includes foods, medicines, devices and cosmetics, but not products containing hemp seeds or ingredients derived from hemp seeds.
CHP, in addition, can contain no more than 0.3 percent concentration of Delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol (THC). In this regard, the most commonly marketed products are:
- Cannabidiol (CBD) Oil
- CBD Gummy Bears
- CBD-infused foods and beverages
- Over-the-counter medications containing CBD
- Topical lotions and cosmetics containing CBD.
How to obtain a license to sell consumable hemp products?
- Submit the appropriate documents through the official website of the State Department of Health Services.
- The license to manufacture, process and distribute consumable hemp products costs $258 for one year.
It highlights House Bill 1325, which adds certain consumer protection measures to ensure consumer safety and prevent fraudulent actions.